What Is Gellan Gum? Uses And Benefits

What Is Gellan Gum? Uses And Benefits

Do you know what is gellan gum? Is it healthy and safe to consume? In the beginning, it sounds like a piece of chewing gum! But surprisingly, it is not even related to chewing gum. So, first, we need to understand what is gellan gum derived from. In my today’s article, we will majorly focus on origination, nutritional facts, benefits, and side effects of gellan gum. Here, I have even listed down the uses of gellan gum along with a comparison of carrageenan vs gellan gum. Without wasting much time, let’s now find out what is gellan gum in our next section.

What Is Gellan Gum?

Gellan gum is a vegan multi-functional food additive that is widely used in various foods and beverages. This food additive is somewhat similar to other gelling agents like guar gum, carrageenan, agar-agar, and xanthan gum. It was first discovered in a lily pond in Pennsylvania, the USA in 1978. Let’s now find out what is gellan gum made from.

What Is Gellan Gum Made Of?

Basically, gellan gum is made by using bacteria found in nature. It can also be artificially multiplied and grown through bacteria fermentation where cells convert nutrients into large molecules. The gum is then collected, dried, and crushed into a powder so it can be added to any product.

As you have now understood what is gellan gum vegan, let us find out in which food items it is found.

Foodstuffs Containing Gellan Gum

Gellan gum is found in a variety of food items, some of them are listed down below for you.

 

Beverages
  • Chocolate milk
  • Plant-based milks
  • Juices 
Confectioneries
  • Baked foods
  • Candy
  • Marshmallows 
Dairy
  • Cream
  • Yogurt
  • Cheese
  • Fermented milk
Fruit And Vegetable Products
  • Fruit purees
  • Jams
  • Jelly 
  • Marmalades 
Package Foods
  • Noodles
  • Potato gnocchi
  • Bread
  • Rolls
  • Pastas 
Sauces And Spreads
  • Salad dressings
  • Ketchup
  • Mustard
  • Gravies
  • Custards
  • Syrups
Other Food Items
  • Meats
  • Fish roe
  • Soups
  • Broths
  • Condiments
  • Powdered sugar

You can keep on reading to know what is gellan gum used for.

Uses Of Gellan Gum

Gellan gum can be used in various ways. Below, I have listed down different uses of gellan gum for you.

  • Gellan gum is majorly used to stabilize and suspend ingredients in foods and beverages.
  • It makes food more consistent in flavor, texture, and nutrients.
  • This food additive is very useful for adding a gel consistency to purees or spreads.
  • Gellan gum in oat milk acts as a thickening agent to prevent the products from separating.
  • Chefs use gellan gum in ice creams and sorbet recipes! It prevents the melting of cold desserts when a flame or alcohol is used for browning or crusting.

Gellan Gum Benefits And Side Effects

In the above section, we have studied what is gellan gum in oat milk. It is an excellent substitute for gelatin in vegan products. But is gellan gum healthy? So, here, I have listed down the benefits and toxic effects of gellan gum that will clear all your doubts.

Gellan Gum Benefits Gellan Gum Side Effects
  • Gellan gum helps in relieving constipation.
  • It helps to lose weight faster.
  • It is examined that gellan gum helps in controlling blood sugar and cholesterol levels.
  • This food additive keeps vitamins and minerals stabilized in beverages and foods.
  • It may alter healthy levels of intestinal bacteria.
  • Excess consumption of gellan gum can cause digestive issues.
  • Gellan gum can be potentially dangerous as it is not found naturally in food.

Gellan Gum Vs Carrageenan

Gellan gum and carrageenan both are widely used as food additives for hundreds of years! Both of them are considered vegetarian and vegan alternatives to gelatin.

Below, I have listed down two differences between them.

  • Carrageenan is extracted from red seaweed or Irish Moss. Whereas, gellan gum is the slimy result of fermentation of bacteria mixed with corn sugar.
  • However, gellan gum is better than carrageenan as it has good stability, moisture retention, and texture.

FAQ

Why Is Gellan Gum Bad?

Gellan gum can be hazardous to health as it can cause problems like intestinal obstruction and death. Also, sometimes it can cause mild digestive issues.

What Is Gellan Gum Made Of?

Basically, gellan gum is made by using bacteria found in nature. It can also be artificially multiplied and grown through bacteria fermentation where cells convert nutrients into large molecules. The gum is then collected, dried, and crushed into a powder so it can be added to any product.

Is Gellan Gum Made Of Pork?

No, gellan gum is not made of pork. It is mainly manufactured through fermentation from corn and other various crops.

Is Gellan Gum The Same As Xanthan Gum?

Yes, gellan gum is similar to xanthan gum that is produced by bacterial fermentation. It is found in baked foods, jams, sauces, ice cream, and other confectionery foods.

What Is Gellan Gum In Almond Milk?

Gellan gum in almond milk is known as a vegan thickening agent. It is used for maintaining the consistency and texture of non-dairy milk.

Is Gellan Gum Natural?

Yes, gellan gum is a natural ingredient. Gellan gum is generally obtained through a natural fermentation process using bacteria found in nature.

What Are The Benefits Of Gellan Gum?

Few studies have tested gellan gum’s benefits, though it may reduce your likelihood of constipation. While some people claim that it promotes weight loss and reduces appetite, blood sugar, and cholesterol, further research is needed.

Conclusion

In my above-written article, I have discussed what is gellan gum in soy milk in detail. Gellan gum is a food alternative that is made from bacterial fermentation. It helps to bind, texturize, and stabilize ingredients by adding a gel texture to food. This food alternative is mostly found in products like vegan dairy replacements and desserts. Gellan gum helps in relieving constipation, controlling blood sugar and cholesterol levels. It is advised to consume gellan gum in a smaller amount to avoid any toxic effects. Thus, once you know what is gellan gum, you can make your own alt-milk at home!

Posts created 417

Related Posts

Begin typing your search term above and press enter to search. Press ESC to cancel.

Back To Top